# The Louis K. Brandt Research Award: Friendraising through Fundraising?

# Award Winners by Year

	1993	1995	1997	1999	2001	2003	2005
	Lindley, Tom Robin, Don	Babin, Barry Goffe, Bill Henthorne, T.	Dickie, Mark Mixon, Frank	Babin, Barry Niroomand, F.†	Nissan, Ed	Mixon, Frank	Babin, Barry‡
Research Period Covered	1991-92	1993-94	1995-96	1997-98	1999-00	2000-01	2002-03

<sup>†</sup> Niroomand was serving as Acting Chair of the Department of Economics and International Business at the time he was awarded the Brandt Award in 1999. At about the same time, he was also being elevated to Associate Dean of the CBA for the upcoming academic year (i.e., 1999-2000),
<sup>‡</sup> At the time he received the Brandt Award in 2005, Babin was in negotiation with CoB Dean Harold Doty to assume the Chairperson role for the Department of Management, Marketing and Fashion Merchandising. The negotiation was successful, as Babin was elevated to that role for the 2005-2006 academic year.

## Louis K. Brandt Research Award

The Louis K. Brandt Research Award is given during the Spring semester of odd-numbered years (e.g., 2005) to the CoB faculty member who has produced the most distinguished record of scholarship over the previous two calendar years (e.g., 2003-2004). Under normal procedure, the recipient(s) is (are) chosen based on the advice of an outside reviewer, who is chosen by the college's central administration. Winners of the Award are not eligible to receive the award in the next award cycle. The Award was set up through private contributions to the USM Foundation in the name of a former business college professor, and it is accompanied by a lump-sum payment that usually ranges from \$2,000 to \$2,500. In the case of multiple recipients, the Award stipend is divided accordingly.

#### **Recent History of the Award**

The table above presents all winners of the Louis K. Brandt Research Award from 1993-2005. Over the seven most recent Award cycles, there were multiple recipients on four separate occasions. A recent trend of solo winners seems to have developed since the

1999 Award. Winners have come from economics, finance, and marketing, with economics and marketing dominating the Award since 1993. Barry Babin, Professor of Marketing, has won the Award on three separate occasions since 1993 (1995, 1999 and 2005).

After posting two reports on the Louis K. Brandt Research Award process here at usmpride.com, we have been alerted on numerous occasions by readers to some of the seemingly troublesome details of the 2001 Louis K. Brandt Research Award process. In the sections below, we provide analysis of what we have discovered to date regarding the 2001 Award process.

## The 2001 Louis K. Brandt Award Contest: Was it Over Before it Even Got Started?

As the Table above points out, the 2001 Louis K. Brandt Award was won by Ed Nissan, Professor of Economics. At the time of the 2001 Award, Farhang Niroomand was serving as the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Business. We have been informed that he coordinated the process of selecting the individual to be invited to serve as the outside reviewer of the finalists' applications. We are informed that it came to light just after the judging was completed that the outside reviewer was Mohsen Bahmani-Oskooee, Professor of Economics at the University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee. Niroomand and Bahmani-Oskooee each received a PhD in economics from Michigan State University. A search (primarily using *Business Source Complete*) indicates that the two economists have also collaborated in the past, as the list below indicates:

<u>Bahmani-Oskooee/Niroomand Collaborations</u> *Applied Economics Letters*, 1999 *Economics Letters*, 1998 *Applied Economics*, 1998 *Economic Development & Cultural Change*, 1996

Our search also turned up a number of collaborations between Niroomand and Nissan, especially during the period after the 2001 Louis K. Brandt Research Award contest, as the list below indicates (*BSC* search supplemented by Sedona information):

<u>Niroomand/Nissan Collaborations</u> *Multinational Business Review*, 2007 *Southwestern Journal of Economics*, 2006 *Journal of Economic Development*, 2006 *Journal of Current Research in Current Business*, 2006 *Journal of Developing Areas*, 2005 *Journal of Global Business*, 2005 *International Advances in Economic Research*, 2002 Informacion Comercial Espanola, 2000 Journal of Economic Studies, 1997 Journal of Economic Development, 1991

The data above clearly depict a working relationship between Niroomand and Nissan that seems close enough to conclude that Niroomand should not have had the authority to select the outside reviewer in this case.

# Some of the Aftermath of the 2001 Louis K. Brandt Research Award

During the Summer of 2004, Niroomand was granted a merit raise of \$22,728, as other documents on usmpride.com point out. That was the highest merit raise awarded that year, and was more than twice as much as that awarded Zaher Hallab (Assistant Professor of Tourism Management), who finished with the second highest raise. Nissan received the fourth largest raise that year, at \$7,772. It has also been reported at usmpride.com that Nissan was "relieved" of his Academic Council duties by CoB administration. More details involving this 2001 Award process may also be forthcoming as other details arrive.